RÉMY VAILLOT

Former employee of Bonduelle, volunteer for the Aponh project in Cameroon.

Launched by the IECD in 2014 in partnership with the Bonduelle group, the APONH project accompanies the economic development of the western region of Cameroon by supporting the activity of farmers. It covers three areas: training for farmers, the development of the commercial sector, and participation in the region’s social development.

Rémy Vaillot, the former Head of Agricultural Research and Development with Bonduelle is now a volunteer for the APONH project. About 15 people from different professions have worked with the IECD on this federative project.

« When a former colleague told me about the APONH project, I immediately offered my services. I am a very inquisitive person and I traveled a great deal with my work. I come from a large family and lived in a working-class town. Solidarity was the most important thing. Therefore, the idea interested me immediately. I was paid to work for 40 years and now it is time for me to give something back! It offers me a great deal: I like people, meeting them, and seeing how they live. And if I can make my own modest contribution, it’s all the better!

Bonduelle has created a community around the APONH project: the “Aponheurs”. Every month, a management committee is organized with the IECD and Bonduelle’s employees. We greatly appreciate the way in which the IECD interacts with the company: we don’t just invest money, there is also a great deal of human involvement.  There is a genuine wish to make the project work and to obtain results.

There is still much work to be done, but things are going well. Farmers are improving their lives and children are going to school. They are interested in testing new plant varieties: lettuce, pumpkins, carrots, etc. and they are all the more motivated since they are obtaining good results. When I arrived, there were only 15 farmers and there are now more than 50! »

SUBSCRIBE TO IECD NEWS

IECD
20 rue de Dantzig, 75015 Paris
contact@iecd.org
+33 1 45 33 40 50
Recognized as being of public utility
Contact of our delegations on the field

RÉMY VAILLOT

Ex salarié de l’entreprise Bonduelle, bénévole pour le projet APONH au Cameroun.

Lancé par l’IECD en 2014 en partenariat avec le groupe Bonduelle, le projet APONH accompagne le développement économique de la région de l’Ouest camerounais en soutenant l’activité des exploitants ruraux.  ll comprend trois volets : la formation des agriculteurs, le développement du secteur commercial et la participation au développement social de la région.

Rémy Vaillot, ex responsable Recherche et Développement Agronomie au sein de l’entreprise Bonduelle est aujourd’hui bénévole pour le projet APONH. Ils sont une quinzaine de personnes de différents métiers à collaborer avec l’IECD autour de ce projet fédérateur.

« Lorsqu’un ancien collègue m’a parlé du projet APONH, j’ai immédiatement proposé mes services. Je suis quelqu’un de très curieux et j’ai beaucoup voyagé dans le cadre de mon travail. Je viens d’une famille nombreuse qui vivait dans une cité ouvrière. La solidarité primait avant tout. L’idée m’a donc séduit immédiatement. J’ai été payé pour travailler pendant 40 ans, je peux bien donner en retour ! Et cela m’apporte beaucoup : j’aime les gens, les rencontrer, découvrir comment ils vivent.  Et si je peux en plus leur apporter humblement quelque chose, alors c’est encore mieux !

L’entreprise Bonduelle a créé une communauté autour du projet APONH : les « Aponheurs ». Tous les mois est organisé un comité de direction avec l’IECD et les employés de Bonduelle. Nous apprécions beaucoup la façon dont l’IECD interagit avec l’entreprise : nous n’investissons pas que de l’argent, mais il y a aussi une implication humaine.  Il y a une vraie volonté de faire fonctionner le projet et d’aboutir à des résultats.

Il y a encore du travail, mais ça marche bien. Les agriculteurs vivent mieux et leurs enfants vont à l’école. Ils sont curieux de tester de nouvelles variétés : salades, courges, carottes… et ils sont motivés parce qu’ils ont des résultats. Quand je suis arrivé, ils n’étaient que 15 agriculteurs, aujourd’hui ils sont plus de 50 ! »

S’INSCRIRE AUX ACTUALITÉS DE L’IECD

IECD
20 rue de Dantzig, 75015 Paris
contact@iecd.org
+33 1 45 33 40 50
Reconnu d’utilité publique
Contact de nos délégations sur le terrain