LOCATION

Madagascar (Fianarantsoa)

LOCAL PARTNER

Promes (Association for economic and social promotion)

PROJECT LAUNCH

2006

CERES – Educational and remedial centres – © 2013

I have made my poverty a weapon of success

Mandimby, 22 years, Malgasy teacher, former CERES student from the 2008 school year.

Mandimby joined the CERES program when it was launched in 2008. From the 1st year to the final year, the program’s personal and global support allowed him to successfully overcome various difficulties despite moments of doubt. Now, Mandimby wants to offer young people in difficulty the same chance as he had. In order to become a good teacher, he followed the Initial Teacher Training (FIP) set up by the same CERES program since 2014.

Education and remediation centres (CERES)

For the past 11 years, the IECD and the Madagascan association PROMES have been combating school failure among young rural students in the region of Fianarantsoa by supporting them from junior school through to higher education (bachelor’s degree level). The global support offered to them, through remediation education, extracurricular educational activities, reception in boarding facilities and personalized monitoring, allows them to flourish on a personal, intellectual and educational level in an environment that is favorable to learning. Thus, since the start of the project, almost 9,000 students have been supported in the frame of the CERES program with very positive results: 83% success rate in the BEPC mid-school exam (2016-2017) and 86% success rate in the Baccalaureate (2016-2017) for students followed by the CERES, namely more than twice the national success rate. This success is partly due to the holistic approach of the program which takes account of the student and his or her environment.

The CERES program has evolved throughout its 10 years of existence, in particular with the introduction in 2009 of a so-called ″Preparatory Year″ between the moment students obtain the BEPC mid-school exam and their entry into reputable high schools in Fianarantsoa, which used to be very difficult for young people from rural areas to access: thus, in 2016, 100% of the hundred or so students which benefited from the Preparatory Year were admitted to the six best high schools in Fianarantsoa. Since 2010, success rates in the Baccalaureate have continued to rise to reach 85% in 2016 (namely more than twice the regional level), thanks, in particular, to the setting up of the personalized monitoring of high school students. In 2016, 362 high school students benefited from this support. Finally, since 2013, the development of a post Baccalaureate solution with SUP-CERES and SESAME, has helped to support bachelor degree students in their higher education and their professional integration. SUP CERES is a hybrid local solution involving the monitoring of high school students and SESAME and concerned 39 students in 2016.

The student’s educational and family context is another concern of the CERES programs. With a view to educational coherence, information for parents (three meetings in 2016) and the training of teachers from 12 partner establishments (150 teachers participated in 10 days of training) are considered to be essential for the success of the mission.

2016 saw the creation of two independent associations which benefit from technical support by CERES and which are officially recognized:

  • The MEVA association, bringing together teachers from partner junior schools in order to encourage an increase in their skills: training, creation of educational resource centers in each village.
  • The parents’ associations in villages where the ″incubators″ are located in order to support all of the parents in their responsibilities.

MOST JUNIOR SCHOOLS IN THE BUSH DO NOT HAVE CERTIFIED TEACHERS

In Madagascar, most teachers in junior schools in the bush do not have special training. In order to remedy this situation, the Madagascan Education Ministry called upon the IECD’s know-how in educational engineering to create the Initial Teacher Training (ITT) course in 2014. In 2017, three academic years benefited from the FIP. Among the 36 students trained, more than 90% were certified by the National Institute for Vocational Training.

2017 results:

  • 2,912 junior and senior school students were supported in their studies at junior and senior school in the frame of CERES.
  • 105 teachers improved their skills.
  • More than 86% success rate in the Baccalaureate and more than 83% in the BEPC for students who were accompanied by CERES.

LOCALISATION

Madagascar (Fianarantsoa)

PARTENAIRE LOCAL

Association pour la Promotion économique et sociale (PROMES)

DÉBUT DU PROJET

2006

CERES – Renforcement éducatif et scolaire à Madagascar – © 2013

J’ai fait de ma pauvreté une arme de réussite

Mandimby, 22 ans, professeur de malgache, ancien élève CERES de la promotion 2008.

Mandimby a intégré le dispositif CERES à ses débuts, en 2008. De la 6e à la terminale, l’accompagnement personnalisé lui a permis de franchir les étapes avec succès malgré les périodes de découragement. Aujourd’hui, Mandimby souhaite offrir aux jeunes en difficulté les mêmes chances que lui. Et pour devenir un bon enseignant, il a suivi la Formation initiale des professeurs (FIP) mise en place par le même dispositif CERES depuis 2014.

Programme CERES : les Centres d’Éducation et de Renforcement Scolaire

Depuis 11 ans, l’IECD et l’association malgache PROMES luttent contre l’échec scolaire des jeunes ruraux de la région de Fianarantsoa en les accompagnant du collège aux études supérieures (BAC+3). L’accompagnement global qui leur est proposé, à travers le soutien scolaire, la pratique d’activités éducatives extrascolaires, l’accueil en internat et le suivi personnalisé, leur permet de s’épanouir sur le plan intellectuel, éducatif et personnel, dans un environnement favorable à l’apprentissage. Ainsi, depuis le début du projet, près de 9 000 élèves ont été accompagnés dans le cadre du dispositif CERES, avec des résultats très positifs : 83 % de réussite au BEPC (2016-2017) et 86 % de réussite au bac (2016-2017) pour les élèves suivis par le CERES, soit plus de deux fois le taux de réussite nationale. Ce succès s’explique en partie par l’approche holistique du dispositif qui prend en compte l’élève et son environnement.

Le dispositif CERES a évolué tout au long des 10 ans, avec notamment l’introduction en 2009 d’une année dite « préparatoire » entre l’obtention du Brevet des collèges et l’entrée dans les lycées renommés de Fianarantsoa, qui restait un cap difficile pour des jeunes issus du milieu rural : ainsi, en 2016, 100% de la centaine d’élèves ayant bénéficié de l’AP ont été admis dans les 6 meilleurs lycées de Fianarantsoa. Depuis 2010, les taux de réussite au baccalauréat ne cessent de croître pour atteindre 85% en 2016 (soit plus de deux fois le taux régional), grâce notamment à la mise en place du suivi personnalisé des lycéens. En 2016, 362 lycéens ont été bénéficié de cet accompagnement. Enfin, depuis 2013, le développement d’une offre post-bac, avec le SUP-CERES d’un côté et SESAME de l’autre, permet d’accompagner les bacheliers dans leurs études supérieures, puis dans leur insetion professionnelle. Le SUP CERES est une réponse locale hybride entre le suivi lycéen et SESAME et a concerné 39 élèves en 2016.

L’environnement éducatif et familial de l’élève est une autre préoccupation du programme CERES. Dans un souci de cohérence éducative, la sensibilisation des parents (3 rencontres en 2016) et la formation des professeurs des 12 établissements partenaires (150 professeurs ont participé à 10 journées de formations) sont considérés comme des éléments essentiels pour mener à bien la mission.

L’année 2016 a vu la création de deux associations autonomes, appuyées techniquement par le CERES et reconnues officiellement :

  1. L’association MEVA, regroupant les professeurs des collèges partenaires afin de favoriser leur montée en compétences: formation, création de centres de ressources pédagogiques au sein de chaque village.
  2. Les associations de parents dans les villages où se situent les «pépinières », afin d’accompagner l’ensemble des parents dans leurs responsabilités.

LA PLUPART DES COLLÈGES DE BROUSSE N’ONT PAS DE PROFESSEURS CERTIFIÉS

À Madagascar, une majorité de professeurs de collège de brousse n’a pas suivi de formation spécifique. Pour remédier à cette carence, le Ministère de l’éducation nationale Malgache a fait appel au savoir-faire de l’IECD en ingénierie de formation pour créer la Formation initiale au métier de professeur (FIP) en 2014. En 2017, trois promotions ont bénéficié de la FIP. Parmi les 36 élèves formés, plus de 90 % ont été certifiés par l’Institut national de formation professionnelle.

Les professeurs certifiés de la promotion 2017 (Formation initiale au métier de
professeur)

Résultats 2017 :

  • 2 912 élèves de collège et lycée ont été accompagnés dans leurs études dans le cadre de CERES.
  • 105 professeurs ont amélioré leurs compétences.
  • + de 86 % de réussite au bac et + de 83 % au BEPC pour les élèves ayant été accompagnés par CERES.