LOCATION

Madagascar (Fianarantsoa)

LOCAL PARTNER

Saint François-Xavier school

PROJECT LAUNCH

2013

My best memory of ″La Rizière″? When the students from the first year group received the results of the CAP diploma! The success rate was 100%! They were so happy! The training at ″La Rizière″ has changed the life of many young people.″

CHEF TAHINA

Head Chef at La Rizière,
1st year student trainer.

MADAGASCAR: The hospitality school La Rizière in Fianarantsoa

Located in the highlands of Madagascar, Fianarantsoa lies on the road leading to the southern part of the country. This trading town has a high level of casual labor and a high level of poverty. Official statistics show that, in Madagascar, a large number of jobs in the hospitality-catering sector are not filled.

Since 2012,  ″La Rizière″ hospitality school has allowed young people who find themselves in a vulnerable socio-economic situation to learn new vocational skills adapted to the needs of the hospitality sector. Three specialties, defined with professionals from the country, are offered: commis chef (2 years), waiter/bartender (2 years) or valet (1 year). A high quality hotel-restaurant next to the hospitality school allows students to practice in real-life conditions and, thus, increase their prospects of finding a job after graduation.

The school also favors the personal development of each student, in particular with the creation in 2016 of language, dance, singing, theater and even gardening clubs, themes that were chosen by the young people themselves. Finally, a monitoring, guidance and employment office now takes charge of supporting each young person individually during and after training.

THE EMERGENCE OF A NATIONAL VOCATIONAL TRAINING POLICY IN MADAGASCAR

On 6 February 2016, the first Certificat d’Aptitudes Professionnelles (CAP) vocational training certificate in hospitality-catering careers was awarded to students from ″La Rizière″. It is the conclusion of two years (2013-2015) of experimentation in new national syllabuses. These syllabuses are the result of coordinated work by the IECD, the Ministry of Employment, Technical Education and Vocational Training (MEETFP), and the National Tourist Office of Madagascar (ONTM) since 2012. After the passing of the law on the National Policy of Employment and Vocational Training (PNEFP) at the end of 2015, the IECD and its partners (the Italian NGO VIS and the International Francophone Organization), spent one year supporting the Madagascan Ministry (MEETFP) in the implementation of its policy. Thus, the first elements of a sustainable system for the development of technical and vocational skills have been set up.

2017 results:

  • 154 students benefited from training during 2017, 66% of whom were young girls.
  • 71% of the young people people who graduated in September found a job or are continuing their studies 3 months after obtaining their diploma.
  • 82% self-funding rate end of 2017 thanks to the application hotel and restaurant.

LOCALISATION

Madagascar (Fianarantsoa)

PARTENAIRE LOCAL

Lycée Saint François-Xavier

DÉBUT DU PROJET

2013

Mon plus beau souvenir à « La Rizière » ? Quand les élèves de la première promotion ont reçu les résultats du CAP ! Il y a eu 100% de réussite ! Ils étaient tellement contents ! La formation à « La Rizière » a changé la vie de certains jeunes. »

CHEF TAHINA

Chef cuisinier de La Rizière, formateur des élèves de 1ère année.

MADAGASCAR : École hôtelière La Rizière à Fianarantsoa

Située sur les hautes terres de Madagascar, Fianarantsoa est un lieu de passage pour se rendre dans le sud du pays. Cette ville commerçante abrite de nombreux emplois informels et affiche un taux de pauvreté élevé. Par ailleurs, les statistiques officielles montrent qu’à Madagascar, un nombre important d’emplois restent non pourvus dans les métiers de l’hôtellerie restauration.

Depuis 2012, l’école hôtelière « La Rizière » permet à des jeunes en situation socio-économique précaire d’acquérir des compétences professionnelles adaptées aux attentes du secteur hôtelier. Trois spécialités, définies avec les professionnels du pays, leur sont proposées : commis de cuisine (2 ans), commis de salle et de bar (2 ans) ou commis d’hébergement (1 an). Un hôtel-restaurant de haute qualité, adossé à l’école hôtelière, permet aux élèves de pratiquer en conditions réelles et augmente ainsi leur chance de trouver un emploi à l’issue de la formation.

L’école favorise également le développement personnel de chaque élève, avec notamment la création en 2016 de clubs de langue, danse, chant, théâtre ou encore jardinage, thèmes choisis par les jeunes eux-mêmes. Enfin, un bureau de suivi, d’orientation et d’emploi se charge désormais d’accompagner chaque jeune individuellement, pendant et après la formation.

L’ ÉMERGENCE D’UNE POLITIQUE NATIONALE DE LA FORMATION PROFESSIONNELLE À MADAGASCAR

Le 6 février 2016, le 1er Certificat d’Aptitudes Professionnelles (CAP) des métiers de l’hôtellerie-restauration a été décerné aux élèves de « La Rizière ». C’est l’aboutissement de deux années (2013-2015) d’expérimentation de nouveaux référentiels nationaux. Ces référentiels sont eux mêmes le résultat de l’action coordonnée de l’IECD, du Ministère de l’emploi, de l’enseignement technique et de la formation professionnelle (MEETFP), et de l’Office national du tourisme de Madagascar (ONTM), conduite depuis 2012. Après le vote de la loi portant sur la Politique nationale de l’emploi et de la formation professionnelle (PNEFP) fin 2015, l’IECD et ses partenaires (l’ONG italienne VIS et l’OIF), ont accompagné durant une année le Ministère malgache (MEETFP) dans la mise en œuvre de sa politique. Les premiers éléments d’un système durable de développement des compétences techniques et professionnelles ont ainsi été mis en place.

Résultats 2018 :

  • 152 élèves bénéficiaires des formations durant l’année 2018 dont 66% de jeunes filles.
  • 83 % des jeunes diplômés de septembre ont trouvé un emploi ou sont en poursuite d’études 3 mois après l’obtention de leur diplôme.
  • 71% des anciens élèves se disent très satisfaits de leur formation et gagnent en moyenne 1,5 fois le salaire minimum de Madagascar.
  • 14 formateurs et 4 membres du personnel administratif ont amélioré leurs compétences.