TO PUT THE HOPE BACK TO DESADVANTAGED VIETNAMESE YOUNG PEOPLE

Trần Thành is 17 years old and is student in Residential & Industrial Electricity at Ho Chi Minh City’s Technical & Economical College. For Trần Thành, who comes from a modest social background, it is the opportunity to find a job quickly, to become an independant person and to provide for himself and his family.

“At the age of 9, we moved to Ho Chi Minh City. We rented a tiny room in a boarding house. My mother is selling lottery tickets to support us. I was interested in electricity so after grade 9 and I decided to do a vocational training major. It’s a way to gain skills, to find a job quickly and tu support my family. After graduating, I know I will be ready to apply for a job.”

The program is supported by Audi. Laurent Genet, General Director at Audi Vietnam Official Importer, explains to us how it is important for him :

“The automotive market is booming and news skills are necessary : mechanic, electromechanic and electricity. We think vocational school is the opportunity for young people to learn the skills of the future. Our workshops in Ho Chi Minh City need to increase their staff with new skills.”

Laurent GenetGeneral Director at Audi Vietnam Official Importer

For two years in Vietnam, the IECD has supported two vocational training in Civil and Industrial Electricity and Vehicle Maintenance through the Seeds of Hope program, which is rolled out in five countries.

Redonner espoir aux jeunes vietnamiens

issus de milieux modestes

Trần Thành a 17 ans et est étudiant en Électricité industrielle & civile au Technical & Economic College d’Hô-Chi-Minh-City. Pour Trần Thành, issu d’un milieu très modeste, c’est l’opportunité de rapidement décrocher un emploi, de devenir autonome et de pouvoir subvenir aux besoins de sa famille.

“À l’âge de 9 ans, nous sommes venus habiter à Hô-Chi-Minh-Ville. Nous avons loué une minuscule chambre dans une pension de famille. Ma mère vendait des tickets de loterie pour subvenir à nos besoins. Je me suis intéressé à l’électricité dès le college (equivalent 3e en France) et j’ai décidé de suivre une formation professionnelle : elle me permettra d’accéder à un travail et de subvenir rapidement aux besoins de ma famille. Après ma formation, je serai prêt pour postuler dans une entreprise et prétendre à un emploi.”

Le programme au Vietnam est soutenu par le Groupe Audi. Laurent Genet, directeur général d’Audi Vietnam Official Importer, nous explique quel intérêt cela représente pour lui.

“Le marché de l’automobile est en pleine expansion au Vietnam et de nouvelles compétences sont attendues. Nos ateliers d’Hô-Chi-Minh-Ville cherchent activement à intégrer des jeunes qualifiés, qui apporteront un nouveau savoir-faire, et qu’ils pourront transmettre à leur tour au personnel déjà en place.”

Laurent GenetDirecteur général de Audi Vietnam Official Importer

Depuis deux ans au Vietnam, l’IECD soutient deux formations dans le secteur de l’électricité et de la maintenance automobile, à travers le programme Graines d’Espérance. Ce programme de formation aux métiers de l’énergie et de l’industrie est actuellement déployé dans 5 pays.