NABEH, 27 years

Beneficiary of training at the Shahab Center in Jaramana (suburb of Damas, Syria) created by the IECD.

Now a member of the jury of the BRIDGES program.

Designed to help Iraqi refugees when it was created in 2008, the Shahab Center (meaning the “center for young people”) in Jaramana mainly welcomes internally displaced Syrians from childhood through to adulthood, namely from 5 to 24 years. The young people have access to several types of services: a varied training offering, personal development workshops and psychological support. In 2017, two new centers opened their doors, one in Sweida, in the south of the country. A 4th center is being studied in Aleppo in the north of the country.

In 2013-2014, Nabeh was one of the beneficiaries of the activities of the Shabab Center in Jaramana, in the suburbs of Damas. Nabeh was very bright and excelled in English and computing. He was also part of the center’s choir:

“My experience at the IECD’s Shahab Center was very enriching and positive. Ms. Salamey listened to us and knew how to advise beneficiaries in need. The personal development workshops helped me to analyze my life, to think positively and to be proactive when it comes to everyday struggles. The idea of a center that welcomes young people and offers them advice in addition to financial support, which allows them to acquire vocational skills, think about their place in society, which offers them recreational activities and helps them to deal with the difficulties of daily life really inspired me! I wanted to be more engaged in my community. I wanted everybody to be able to benefit from this offer and I volunteered to distribute brochures in the neighborhood and encourage young people to visit the Shahab Center. We all really need it! “

Nabeh then became a community center coordinator in Jaramana. He is now the vocational training coordinator for Means of Subsistence programs at the SARC (Syrian Arab Red Crescent). As a representative of the Syrian Arab Red Crescent, Nabeh was recently part of the jury that awarded funding for the projects of young participants in the BRIDGES program at the Shabab Center.

SUBSCRIBE TO IECD NEWS

IECD
20 rue de Dantzig, 75015 Paris
contact@iecd.org
+33 1 45 33 40 50
Recognized as being of public utility
Contact of our delegations on the field

NABEH, 27 ans

Bénéficiaire des formations du Shabab Center de Jaramana (banlieue de Damas, Syrie) créé par l’IECD.

Aujourd’hui membre du jury du programme BRIDGES.

Destiné à aider les réfugiés irakiens à sa création en 2008, le Shebab Center (littéralement, le « centre des jeunes ») de Jaramana accueille principalement aujourd’hui les déplacés internes syriens, de l’enfance à l’âge adulte, soit de 5 à 24 ans. Les jeunes disposent de plusieurs types de services : un accueil personnalisé, une offre de formation diversifiée, des ateliers de développement personnel et un soutien psychologique. En 2017, deux nouveaux centres ont ouvert leurs portes dont un à Sweida, au Sud du Pays. Un 4e centre est à l’étude à Alep, dans le nord du Pays

En 2013-2014, Nabeh fut l’un des bénéficiaires des activités du Shabab Center de Jaramana dans la banlieue de Damas. Nabeh était brillant et excellait dans les cours d’anglais et d’informatique. Il faisait aussi partie de la chorale du centre :

« Mon expérience au Shabab Center de l’IECD a été très enrichissante et positive. Madame Salamey était très à l’écoute et savait conseiller les bénéficiaires dans le besoin. Les ateliers de développement personnel m’ont aidé à réfléchir sciemment sur ma vie, à penser positivement et à être proactif face aux tensions quotidiennes. L’idée d’un centre qui accueille les jeunes et leur offre des conseils en plus du soutien financier, qui leur permette d’acquérir des compétences professionnelles, de réfléchir sur leur place dans la société, qui leur propose des activités récréatives les aidant à faire face aux difficultés de la vie quotidienne… m’a vraiment inspiré ! J’ai souhaité être plus engagé dans ma communauté. Je voulais que tout le monde puisse bénéficier de cette offre et je me suis porté volontaire pour distribuer des brochures dans le quartier et inciter les jeunes à se rendre au Shabab Center. Nous en avions tous vraiment besoin ! »

Nabeh a ensuite endossé le rôle de coordonnateur du programme jeunes de Jaramana. Il est maintenant coordonnateur de la formation professionnelle au sein des programmes des Moyens de subsistance au SARC (Syrian Arab Red Crescent). En tant que représentant du Croissant-Rouge Arabe Syrien, Nabeh a récemment fait partie du jury d’attribution des financements pour les projets des jeunes participants au programme BRIDGES du Shabab Center.

S’INSCRIRE AUX ACTUALITÉS DE L’IECD

IECD
20 rue de Dantzig, 75015 Paris
contact@iecd.org
+33 1 45 33 40 50
Reconnu d’utilité publique
Contact de nos délégations sur le terrain