FATIMA

Student of the training in “Personal care of the elderly and sick” – Bekaa- Lebanon.

Alongside the certified long training courses, the IECD is developing certified short training over a period of 2 to 12 months, in particular in Lebanon and Syria. The training fields covered meet the demand in buoyant employment sectors: Fatima followed the FAPAM (Training in personal care of the elderly and sick) course which transformed her life.

« I wasn’t lucky enough to be able to continue my studies after school. I come from a large family: I have eight brothers and sisters and I had to work so that they could continue their studies. My previous job as an ophthalmological secretary wasn’t very satisfying: I was always doing the same things and I couldn’t see how I was going to progress. I felt that I was in a rut, like a machine waiting for the end of the month to be paid.

One day, on Facebook, I found an advertisement for training in personal care of the elderly and sick at the hospital in Bekaa. It wasn’t very far from my home, so I decided to enroll. There were 15 of us and we developed a very close bond with each other despite our differences in age, religion and region. We learned how to care for patients as people, regardless of their identity and religious beliefs. I felt that I could be useful to my society.  You work for yourself but also for society!

I wanted to do something with my life, but I needed support and someone who believed in me. During the training, I found what I needed. It gave a taste for life again: I was depressed and now I am proud of myself and I am happy to be successful in my work which offers support at home for the elderly and sick. With this renewed interest, I now want to continue my studies through to the end. »

SUBSCRIBE TO IECD NEWS

IECD
20 rue de Dantzig, 75015 Paris
contact@iecd.org
+33 1 45 33 40 50
Recognized as being of public utility
Contact of our delegations on the field

FATIMA

Étudiante de la formation « Aide à la personne âgée et malade » – Bekaa, Liban.

Parallèlement aux formations longues diplômantes, l’IECD développe des formations qualifiantes d’une durée de 2 à 12 mois, notamment au Liban et en Syrie. Les domaines de formation couverts répondent à la demande de secteurs porteurs. Fatima a suivi la formation FAPAM (Formation d’aide à la personne âgée et malade) qui a bouleversé sa vie.

« Je n’ai pas eu la chance de continuer mes études après l’école. Je suis issue d’une famille nombreuse : j’ai 8 frères et sœurs et je devais travailler pour qu’ils puissent continuer leurs propres études. Mon travail précédent de secrétaire d’un ophtalmologue ne me donnait aucune satisfaction : je faisais toujours les mêmes choses et je ne voyais pas la possibilité d’évoluer. J’étais comme figée, comme une machine attendant la fin du mois pour toucher son salaire.

Un jour, en navigant sur Facebook, j’ai trouvé cette annonce de formation d’aide à la personne âgée et malade à l’hôpital de la Bekaa. Ce n’était pas très proche de chez moi, mais j’ai décidé de m’inscrire. Nous étions 15 personnes, et nous avons établi des relations très fraternelles entre nous, malgré la différence d’âge, de religion et de régions. Nous avons appris à traiter le patient en tant que personne, peu importe son identité et ses croyances religieuses. J’ai senti que je pouvais être utile à ma société.  Vous travaillez pour vous-même mais aussi pour la société !

Je voulais faire quelque chose de ma vie… mais j’avais besoin d’un appui et de quelqu’un qui croit en moi. À la formation, j’ai rencontré ce dont j’avais besoin. Elle m’a redonné goût à la vie : j’étais dépressive et maintenant, je suis fière de moi-même et je suis contente de pouvoir réussir dans mon travail qui offre une aide à des personnes âgés et malades à domicile. Avec cette volonté fortifiée, je désire aujourd’hui continuer mes études jusqu’au bout. »