CHANTAL

Clinical psychologist, psychotherapist at the JANAH – IECD socio-educational center, Beirut, Lebanon.

Since 2007, the IECD has partly met the educational and psychological needs of child refugees at 4 education centers (Beirut, Tripoli, Al Qaa and Rmeilleh). The program includes basic education classes for children who are not in school and education remediation classes for those experiencing major learning difficulties and who are at risk of dropping out of the school system. It also offers extracurricular and personal development activities and psychosocial support to help them overcome the trauma they have experienced and reconnect with school after years outside of the system.

“As a clinical psychologist at the Janah center, I work with children and teenagers who have psychological disorders or who have suffered trauma.  I work in association with the social worker and the center’s coordinator. This collaboration allows us to adopt a global approach to the problems which may be experienced by the most vulnerable and to offer an effective response.

My professional work dates back to 2013 and covers several fields, such as: traumatology, addition, physical and sexual abuse, protection of children, victims of torture and refugees. Children who are suffering need a positive image of life, or rather hope that they can use to rebuild themselves instead of destroying themselves. Children and young people need a warm human presence from which they can draw the strength they need to overcome their difficulties. Resilience is present in each person: it just needs to be brought out.

The multidisciplinary approach implemented by the Janah center is a constant search for a suitable response to the needs of young people and their families.  It is a matter of personal and professional pride and great human satisfaction! “

SUBSCRIBE TO IECD NEWS

IECD
20 rue de Dantzig, 75015 Paris
contact@iecd.org
+33 1 45 33 40 50
Recognized as being of public utility
Contact of our delegations on the field

CHANTAL

Psychologue clinicienne, psychothérapeute au centre socioéducatif de JANAH – IECD, Beyrouth, Liban.

Depuis 2007, l’IECD répond en partie aux besoins éducatifs et psychologiques des enfants réfugiés au sein de 4 centres éducatifs (Beyrouth, Tripoli, Al Qaa et Rmeilleh). Le programme prévoit des cours d’enseignement de base pour les enfants non scolarisés et des cours de remédiation scolaire pour ceux qui éprouvent de grandes difficultés d’apprentissage. Il propose également des activités extrascolaires, de développement personnel et un soutien psychosocial leur permettant de surmonter les traumatismes subis et de renouer avec l’école après des années de déscolarisation.

« En tant que psychologue clinicienne au centre de Janah, j’accompagne les enfants et adolescents qui présentent des troubles psychologiques ou ont subi des traumatismes. Je travaille en coordination avec l’assistante sociale ainsi qu’avec la coordinatrice du centre. Cette collaboration nous permet une approche globale des problèmes que peuvent rencontrer les plus vulnérables et d’y apporter une réponse efficace.

Ma pratique professionnelle remonte à l’année 2013 et touche plusieurs domaines tels que : la traumatologie, l’addiction, les maltraitances physiques et sexuelles, la protection de l’enfance, les victimes de torture ainsi que les réfugiés. L’enfant en souffrance a besoin d’une image positive de la vie, ou plutôt d’un espoir à travers lequel il pourrait se reconstruire au lieu de s’autodétruire. Les enfants et les jeunes, quels qu’ils soient, ont besoin d’une présence humaine chaleureuse en laquelle ils vont puiser une force qui leur permettra de dépasser leurs difficultés. La résilience se trouve chez tout un chacun : il faut juste l’aider à émerger.

L’approche pluridisciplinaire mise en œuvre au centre de Janah est une quête permanente vers une réponse adaptée aux besoins des jeunes et de leurs familles.  C’est une fierté personnelle, professionnelle et une grande satisfaction humaine ! »

S’INSCRIRE AUX ACTUALITÉS DE L’IECD

IECD
20 rue de Dantzig, 75015 Paris
contact@iecd.org
+33 1 45 33 40 50
Reconnu d’utilité publique
Contact de nos délégations sur le terrain