Yehya, 15 years,

Student in technician in maintenance of heating and air-conditioning equipment.

Syria, Jaramana Youth Center

Designed to help Iraqi refugees when it was created in 2008, the Shahab Center (meaning the “center for young people”) in Jaramana mainly welcomes internally displaced Syrians from childhood through to adulthood, namely from 5 to 24 years. The young people have access to several types of services: a varied training offering, personal development workshops and psychological support. In 2017, two new centers opened their doors, one in Sweida, in the south of the country. A 4th center is being studied in Aleppo in the north of the country.

Yehya is 15 years old. He is the youngest in a family of seven children. His father, a construction worker, lost his job about six years ago following an explosion which destroyed their neighborhood. Since then, he has struggled to meet the needs of his family. Yehya stopped attending school in the 4th year of secondary, but his family convinced him that it was important to have a minimum of education.

One of Yehya’s sisters was enrolled at the “I Can” IECD center in order to follow the course in “help for the elderly and other patients”.  It was here that she heard about the IECD center in Jaramana for young people from 14 to 24 years and suggested that her brother sign up. Yehya listened to his sister’s advice and is currently training as a technician in heating and air-conditioning equipment maintenance. One of his brother-in-laws work in this field and explained the advantages of this profession to Yehya, which could allow him to earn a living. Very enthusiastic, he is always the first to arrive:

I take full advantage of this class. The tutor is fascinating and teaches us lots of interesting things. I try to put into practice what we learn and that way I hope to have a trade at my fingertips”, explains Yehya.

Yehya, 15 ans,

Élève en formation de technicien de maintenance d’équipements de chauffage et de climatisation.

Syrie, Centre de formation de Jaramana

Destiné à aider les réfugiés irakiens à sa création en 2008, le Shebab Center (littéralement, le « centre des jeunes ») de Jaramana accueille principalement aujourd’hui les déplacés internes syriens, de l’enfance à l’âge adulte, soit de 5 à 24 ans. Les jeunes disposent de plusieurs types de services : un accueil personnalisé, une offre de formation diversifiée, des ateliers de développement personnel et un soutien psychologique. En 2017, deux nouveaux centres ont ouvert leurs portes dont un à Sweida, au Sud du Pays. Un 4e centre est à l’étude à Alep, dans le nord du Pays.

Yehya a 15 ans. Il est le plus jeune d’une famille de 7 enfants. Son père, ouvrier du bâtiment, a perdu son emploi il y a près de 6 ans à la suite d’une explosion qui a dévasté leur quartier. Depuis, il lutte pour subvenir aux besoins de sa famille. Yehya a cessé sa scolarité en 3e mais sa famille l’a convaincu de l’importance d’avoir un minimum de formation.

Une des sœurs de Yehya s’est inscrite au centre IECD « I Can » pour y suivre la formation d’ « aide aux personnes âgées et aux autres patients ». C’est ici qu’elle a entendu parler du centre de formation de Jaramana pour les jeunes de 14 à 24 ans et a suggéré à son frère de s’y inscrire. Yehya a écouté les conseils de sa sœur et suit actuellement une formation de technicien de maintenance d’équipements de chauffage et de climatisation. L’un de ses beaux-frères travaille dans ce domaine et a expliqué à Yehya les avantages de cette profession qui pourrait lui permettre de gagner sa vie. Très enthousiaste, il est toujours le premier arrivé :

Je profite pleinement de ce cours. Le formateur est passionnant et nous enseigne beaucoup de choses intéressantes. J’essaie de mettre en pratique ce que nous apprenons et de cette façon, j’espère avoir un métier entre les mains » a expliqué Yehya.