LOCATION

Palestinian Territories – Bethany (Al Aizarieh)

LOCAL PARTNERS

Bethany Charitable Association (BCA)

PROJECT LAUNCH

2012

Both of my parents are unemployed. They encourage me to work well. Since the start of the year, my grades have improved thanks to the mathematics classes. I have progressed from 8 to 12 out of 20. The teachers at school are happy″.

Lujain QAWASWI

9 years old

PALESTINIAN TERRITORIES: a school remedial centre for children and teenagers who have dropped out of school

The Al Hamawi Center, which means “protected place”, in Bethany welcomes young boys and girls from 6 to 18 years, most of them from the poorest families in Bethany and its vicinity. They follow a school remediation program and take part in extracurricular activities as well as summer and winter camps. In 2017, the launch of the Hamawi Talents project helped 20 young senior school students in their choice of career.

SPECIAL FOCUS ON YOUNG TEENAGERS

The Al Hamawi Center’s educational project has refocused on young teenagers by offering them personalized monitoring, the reorganization of activities which are greater in number, more coherent and of better quality, as well as a focus on language learning and a more systematic assessment of educators and teachers.

2017 Results:

  • 75 students in the 2nd and 3rd years of state secondary schools in Bethany and Abu Dis benefited from remediation classes.
  • 240 young boys and girls benefited from extracurricular activities and summer and winter camps.
  • 20 female senior school students were supported in their professional integration.

LOCALISATION

Territoires palestiniens – Béthanie (Al Aizarieh)

PARTENAIRES LOCAUX

Bethany Charitable Association

DÉBUT DU PROJET

2012

Mes parents sont tous les deux au chômage, ils m’encouragent pour que je travaille bien. Depuis le début de l’année mes notes ont augmenté grâce aux leçons de mathématiques. Je suis passée de 8 à 12 sur 20. À l’école, les professeurs sont contents ».

Lujain QAWASWI

9 ans

TERRITOIRES PALESTINIENS : un centre de remédiation scolaire pour des enfants et adolescents en situation de décrochage scolaire

Le centre Al Hamawi de Béthanie, qui signifie « lieu protégé », accueille de jeunes garçons et filles âgés de 6 à 18 ans, issus pour la plupart des familles les plus modestes de Béthanie et des environs. Ils suivent un programme de remédiation scolaire et participent à des activités extrascolaires ainsi que des camps d’été et d’hiver. En 2017, le lancement du projet Hamawi Talents a permis d’accompagner 20 jeunes lycéennes dans leur choix d’orientation professionnelle.

UNE ATTENTION PARTICULIÈRE PORTÉE AUX JEUNES ADOLESCENTS

Le projet pédagogique du centre Al Hamawi s’est recentré sur les jeunes adolescents, leur offrant un suivi personnalisé, une réorganisation des activités désormais plus nombreuses, plus cohérentes et de meilleure qualité, ainsi qu’un effort porté sur l’apprentissage des langues et une évaluation plus systématique des éducateurs et des enseignants.

Résultats 2017 :

  • 75 élèves de 5e et 4e de 5 écoles publiques de Béthanie et d’Abu Dis ont bénéficié de cours de renforcement scolaire.
  • 240 jeunes filles et garçons ont bénéficié des activités extrascolaires et des camps d’été et d’hiver.
  • 20 lycéennes ont été accompagnées dans leur orientation professionnelle.