LOCATION

Cameroon
Countrywide

LOCAL PARTNERS

3 parishes (SWC Kumbo, CDD Maroua, Nkongsamba), 2 associations (ACOHOF and SAMACCOL), 2 federations (FEFAL and FEFAK) and 3 enterprises (SOCAPALM, SAFACAM, PHP)

PROJECT LAUNCH

1992

Family Farm Schools – Realized by Marine de Penfentenyo – © 2012.

In my village of Kossehone, I started to apply the techniques I had learned at the FFS in my father’s field (compost, organic soil improvers), and we have practically doubled last year’s corn harvest! I also started a business selling natural pesticides and herbicides at the local market and even as far as Nigeria.

JEAN KODJI

2nd year student at the FFS in Mokolo (Cameroon)

The Family Farm Schools in Cameroon

The Family Farm Schools Programme (FFS) has been implemented in Cameroon since 1992 by the IECD and the CNEFAC. The 20 FFS and 2 Training Institutes for Rural Entrepreneurship (IFER) from the network offer rural young people dual-apprenticeship training courses so that they are able to seize the opportunities offered in their region by developing small agricultural enterprises.

The agricultural vocational training situation has improved with the publication of CAP and agricultural baccalaureate syllabuses in 2016 by the Ministry of Secondary Education (MINESEC). At the start of the 2018 school year, the IECD and its partners will open a CAP course in two schools (Dizangué and Koza). The first CAP will be presented in 2020.

A COMMITMENT TO ENVIRONMENTALLY-FRIENDLY PRACTICES

In order to encourage sustainable and environmentally-friendly practices, a new theme has been introduced into the training course in Cameroon: agroecology. The content is in the process of being drawn up. Training was implemented for all the trainers during the national seminar in Yaoundé in July 2017. Thus, at the start of the school year in 2017, the students studied various subjects such as the sustainable management of natural resources, the impact of humans on the environment, the integrated fight against disease and pests, and sustainable farming techniques (preparation of biopesticides, use of green fertilizers, etc.). This new theme is being tested in schools in Cameroon and, ultimately, will be rolled out to all the countries. To support this dynamic, partnerships were also formed with sustainable development stakeholders in each location, such as the Limbe Wildlife Center and GIC Evergreen. These partnerships help to support the appropriation of agroecological practices by the young people, their trainers and their entourage.

2017 results:

  • 571 young people trained in farming and breeding techniques (1 to 3-year course) in 2016-2017.
  • 688 agricultural entrepreneurs and parents trained in innovative farming techniques (1/2 to 1-day modular training)

Indirect beneficiaries:

  • The students’ families are improving their standard of living by increasing their income thanks to the new methods and technical skills acquired by their children;
  • The students’ current and future employees (enterprises, cooperatives, etc.) benefit from their employees’ technical and management qualifications.

LOCALISATION

Cameroun
Ensemble des 10 régions

PARTENAIRES LOCAUX

3 diocèses (SWC Kumbo, CDD Maroua, Nkongsamba), 2 associations (ACOHOF et SAMACCOL), 2 fédérations (FEFAL et FEFAK) et 3 entreprises (SOCAPALM, SAFACAM, PHP)

DÉBUT DU PROJET

1992

Écoles familiales agricoles – Former les jeunes ruraux aux métiers de l’agriculture – © Marine de Penfentenyo – 2012.

Dans mon village de Kossehone, j’ai commencé à appliquer dans le champ de mon père les techniques que j’avais apprises à l’EFA (compost, amendements organiques), et nous avons presque pu doubler nos récoltes de maïs l’année dernière ! J’ai aussi démarré un commerce de pesticides et herbicides naturels que je vends sur le marché local et jusqu’au Nigeria.

JEAN KODJI

Élève en 2e année à l’EFA de Mokolo (Cameroun)

Écoles Familiales Agricoles au Cameroun

Le Programme d’Écoles Familiales Agricoles (EFA) est mis en œuvre au Cameroun depuis 1992 par l’IECD et la CNEFAC. Les 20 EFA et 2 Instituts de Formation à l’Entrepreneuriat Rural (IFER) du réseau proposent une formation par alternance aux jeunes ruraux, afin qu’ils puissent saisir les opportunités de leurs régions en développant de petites entreprises agricoles.

La situation de la formation professionnelle agricole s’est améliorée avec la publication des référentiels du CAP et du bac agricole en 2016 par le ministère de l’Enseignement secondaire (MINESEC). L’IECD et ses partenaires ouvriront dès la rentrée 2018 une filière CAP dans deux écoles (Dizangué et Koza). Les premiers CAP seront délivrés en 2020.

UN ENGAGEMENT VERS DES PRATIQUES ÉCORESPONSABLES

Afin d’encourager les pratiques durables et respectueuses de l’environnement, une nouvelle thématique a été introduite dans les parcours de formation au Cameroun : l’agroécologie. Les contenus sont en cours d’élaboration. Une formation a été réalisée auprès de tous les formateurs lors du séminaire national de Yaoundé en juillet 2017. Ainsi, dès la rentrée scolaire 2017, les élèves ont abordé des sujets variés tels que la gestion durable des ressources naturelles, l’impact de l’homme sur l’environnement, la lutte intégrée contre les maladies et les ravageurs, ainsi que les techniques agricoles durables (préparation des biopesticides, utilisation des engrais verts, etc.). Ce nouveau thème est en cours d’expérimentation dans les écoles du Cameroun et sera, à terme, étendu à l’ensemble des pays. Pour accompagner cette dynamique, des partenariats ont également été noués avec des acteurs du développement durable dans chaque localité, tels que le Limbe Wildlife Center ou le GIC Evergreen. Ces partenariats permettent d’appuyer l’appropriation des pratiques agroécologiques par les jeunes, leurs formateurs et leur entourage.

Résultats 2017 :

  • 571 jeunes formés aux techniques de l’agriculture et de l’élevage (formation de 1 à 3 ans) en 2016- 2017.
  • 688 entrepreneurs agricoles et parents d’élèves formés aux techniques agricoles innovantes (formations modulaires de 1/2 à 1 jour)

Bénéficiaires indirects :

  • Les familles des élèves améliorent leur niveau de vie, en augmentant leurs revenus grâce aux nouvelles méthodes et compétences techniques acquises par leurs enfants ;
  • Les employeurs actuels et futurs des étudiants (entreprises, coopératives, etc.) bénéficient des qualifications techniques et de gestion de leurs employés.